Board of Education Meeting Briefs—July 1, 2024



At this month’s meeting of the Board of Education, Jennifer Kenney, the district’s director of curriculum and instruction, reported summer curriculum work has concluded with 64 teachers logging more than 920 hours of work between the end of the 2023-2024 academic year and June 28. 

“Kudos go out to our department heads who were in there working with their teachers non-stop and really putting in the time to make sure their departments are successful,” Kenney said. 

Among the main accomplishments were the development of curriculum and instruction for new courses and student growth updates. 

“This is a big commitment and we appreciate everyone’s work,” Superintendent Chris Spencer said. 

In other matters from the meeting:

  • Kenney shared that preliminary results from the Illinois Assessment of Readiness [IAR]  and PSAT/SAT testing have been received and are being reviewed. 

“We had some really great cores preliminarily and some work to do in other areas,” Kenney said.

The district’s summative designations are slated to be released in August. 

  • The Board had a first reading on 54 revised district policies. 
  • Jason Smith, the district’s chief school business officials, was once again appointed as the Title IX, Non-Discrimination Coordinator and Sex Equity Hearing Officer for the 20024-2025 school year. 
  • Luke Krippel, director of special populations, was appointed the liaison for student records for the Department of Children and Family Services for the 2024-2025 school year. 
  • Approval was granted to purchase copy paper for the district from Garvey’s Office Products in the amount of $27,139.80
  • A moisture survey of the Coal City Middle School roof by Weatherproofing Technologies, LLCwas approved by the Board at a cost of $14,760. 
  • Board members approved a resolution supporting Dresden Clean Energy Center’s License Renewal. 
  • A resolution rescinding the 2021 Resolution of Recommendations from the Budget Efficiency Committee was approved, as was the adoption of a new Resolution of Recommendations from the Budget Efficiency Committee. 
  • The Board approved teaching mentors for the coming year. Serving in those roles will be Amanda Malasky, Jim Looper, MaryKay Sthay, Brad Schmitt, Mark Fiske, Sharon Swink, Valarie Clark, Andrea Roseland, Jean Krippel, Aimee Wren, Angie Phillips and Jennifer Swanson. 
  • Justin Kinder was employed as a special education teacher at the Early Childhood Center for the 2024-2025 school year. 
  • Job descriptions for cook, food preparer and food server were adopted. 

The next meeting of the Board is scheduled for Wednesday, Aug 7 at 6 p.m., with a Board Study Session slated for 6 p.m., July 31. Both meetings will be held in the Administration Center Boardroom