National Honor Society inducts 33 new members


The Pete DiPaolo Chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed 33 new members at its 61st Annual Induction of New Members on Tuesday, March 19.


Membership in the National Honor Society is open to students in their sophomore to senior year that hold a 3.75 or higher cumulative grade point average. Students selected for induction into the local chapter are those who display the traits of service, character and leadership.


Prior to reciting the National Honor Society pledge, the newly inducted members were introduced by a friend, faculty or community member of their choosing.


Welcomed into the organization this year are Anthony Aultz, Corinna Barkley, Emily Bergmark, Aylianna Castle, Korbyn Crist, Mackenzie Croxton, Austin Davy, Lilly Feisley, Mia Ferrias, Alysin Fite, Peyton Gibson, Zennah Harvey, Maxwell Hone, Alyssa Hray, William Johnke, Melody Kinder, Kylee Kennell, Owen Kent, Deborah Lynch, Mackenzie Madison Messina, Ava Meyer, Mason Natyshok, Hunter Nettles, Molly Ramsden, Allyssa Parks, Madi Peterson, Chloe Pluger, Katherine Promis, Jadyn Shaw, Abby Stiles, Calleigh VandeWerken, Wyatt Wickiser and Dylan Young. 


The induction ceremony was led by National Honor Society president Alaina Gill. She was assisted by vice president Kylie Jackson, secretary Cassidy Jenke, treasurer Amelia Fritz and student council representative Elsa Bunton. 


Also taking part in the ceremony were Principal Art Stafford and Corey Mikula, assistant principal. 


In addition to the officers, active members of the chapter are Jared Counterman, Jim Feeney, Makayla Henline, Makenzie Henline and Ava Houston.


Prospective members taking part in the ceremony were Landin Benson, August Burns, Kyle Cheever, Riley Clements, Cambree Davidson, Bridget Feeney, Hayden Francisco, Keirsten Gabehart, Aubrey Grunwald, Calleigh Hamilton, Mason Hamilton, Rebecca Hall, Kamryn Hansen, Austin Harding, Noah Houston, Lana Larse n, Sydney Larson, Mackenzie Lovell, Layla Miller, Julian Micetich, Dane Noffsinger, Jordan Olson, Hunter Pedigo, Cade Poyner, Colin Schimandle, Rhaina Vanek, Alec Waliczek, Olivia Weatherbee and Evelyn Wills. 


The local chapter is named for the late Pete DiPaolo who served 19 years as superintendent of the Coal City School District. Mr. DiPaolo died unexpectedly in October 1969 at the age of 53.


Brad Schmitt is the current chapter advisor.